Nominations and applications open for three Grinnell College alumni awards

July 18, 2019 — One of the most gratifying experiences enjoyed by members of the Grinnell community is the opportunity to recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of fellow Grinnellians.

Consider nominating a fellow alum for the 2020 Alumni Awards or the 2020 Athletics Hall of Fame. Additionally, applications are being collected for the 2019 Joseph F. Wall ’41 Alumni Service Award. These should be submitted by the applicant rather than by a nominator.

All three awards have a submission deadline of Aug. 31. Further details about each award are below.

2020 Alumni Awards

For more than 100 years the Grinnell College Alumni Awards have recognized individuals who embody Grinnell College’s mission of lifetime learning and service. Recipients have distinguished themselves by their service to their careers, their community, and/or the College.

Nominations are being accepted for the following classes, who will celebrate their reunion in 2020:

  • 65th Reunion: 1954-1955-1956
  • 55th Reunion: 1965-1966
  • 50th Reunion: 1970
  • 30th Reunion: 1989-1990-1991
  • 25th Reunion: 1995

The Pioneer Award is a special Alumni Award which recognizes individuals who have demonstrated the qualities and characteristics of the Alumni Award as recent graduates. Nominations are being sought for the following classes, who will celebrate their reunion in 2020:

  • 10th Reunion: 2010
  • 5th Reunion: 2014-2015-2016

Complete an online nominations form to share details about the nominee. Current Grinnell College Board of Trustees and Alumni Council members are not eligible for an Alumni Award. Visit the Alumni Awards web page to find more information about the award and learn about past recipients.

The 2020 Alumni Awards are selected by the Grinnell College Alumni Council and will be announced in January. The recipients will be presented with their awards May 30 at the Alumni Assembly during Reunion 2020.

2020 Athletics Hall of Fame

The Grinnell College Athletics Hall of Fame was created in 1996 to honor individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to Grinnell athletics and have helped bring excellence and distinction to the College and its athletic program.

Individual candidates are considered based on their athletic and academic achievements while at Grinnell College and their athletic achievements and contributions to the Grinnell community after graduating. The tribute is open to former students, coaches, and administrators who exemplify the Pioneer tradition of excellence. Learn more about eligibility and the criteria for the award, and view an alphabetical list of current inductees.

An online nomination form is available until Aug. 31. Any supplemental documentation should be sent to Jayn Chaney ’05, director of alumni and donor relations, Office of Development and Alumni Relations, Grinnell College, Grinnell, Iowa 50112.

Honorees will be announced in January with an induction ceremony to be held during the Fall Athletic Weekend on Sept. 4-6, 2020.

Joseph F. Wall ’41 Alumni Service Award

During Grinnell College’s sesquicentennial celebration in 1996, the Wall Award was established as a tribute to the College’s 150-year tradition of social commitment. The award was named in honor of Joseph Wall ’41, professor of history and longtime dean of the College, who inspired an ideal of social responsibility in his students.

Each year, a committee composed of alumni, faculty, and a student choose up to two alumni award recipients and award the $30,000 prizes to either jump-start or complete a project that shows creativity and commitment to effecting positive social change. Any graduate of Grinnell College is eligible to apply, as long as they themselves will act as a principal of the project.

Wall Service Award applications are open for 2019 and are due Aug. 31. Up to five finalists will be required to be on campus for interviews with the Wall Awards committee on Nov. 9-10, 2019. Winners will be announced in November or December. Additional information about the award and a partial list of past winners can be found on the Wall Award webpage

— by Jeremy Shapiro

For your information:

A full listing of awards involving Grinnell College alumni can be found on the Development and Alumni Relations Awards page.

To read more alumni news, check out our news archive.