Text: The Grinnellian. The official Alumni and Friends Newsletter. Text is set on a red background.

The Grinnellian 2019 Archives

The Grinnellian is a monthly e-newsletter launched July 2019 to broadly share Grinnell College stories, events, and activities. Besides being informational, a key goal of the newsletter is demonstrate the differences donors and volunteers are making in the lives of current and future Grinnell students.

The Archive

Please note, the archived issues of The Grinnellian are exact versions of the e-newsletter sent out. As such, some of the events, contests, and links may have expired. If you have any questions, please contact us at alumni@grinnell.edu.

2019 The Grinnellian Trivia

In each issue of The Grinnellian, we include a Grinnell trivia question. The first five who reply each month with the correct answer wins a prize. Please see the archived questions, answers, and a list of winners.

December 2019

Who is Younker Hall named after and what year did it open?

Answer: Benjamin A. Younker and 1951

Winners: Neva J. Specht ’89, Cassidy Wright ’14, Brian Hanson ’85, Jane Meyer ’67, and Leila Payer ’21

November 2019

Illinois is the No. 1 state where current Grinnell students are from. Which state is No. 2?

Answer: Minnesota

Winners: Emma Roszkowski ’18, Amy J. Hyde ’93, Mark Davis, Samantha Pilicer ’15, and Nick DePetris ’08

October 2019

What two buildings on Grinnell’s campus are listed on the National Register of Historic Places?

Answer: Goodnow Hall and Mears Hall (or Mears Cottage)

Winners: Samantha Braman ’12, Greg Lee ’77, John Norman ’82, Annie Pigott ’12, and Mark Duncan ’19

September 2019

Who is the winningest football coach in the history of Grinnell College?

Answer: Edd Bowers ’43

Winners: Joe Pinder, Joel Patterson ’67, Stephen Aldrich ’63, James Pannell, and Philip H. King ’64

August 2019

The Kistle Science Library inside Noyce Science Center was named in honor of what alumna?

Answer: Helen Pierce Kistle ’38

Winners: Mark Duncan ’19, Katie Parrish ’18, Sonja Spain ’18, Eric Misty ‘14, and Apryl Henry ’89

July 2019

Who wrote the words and music to “Here Comes the Pioneers”?

Answer: H. W. Matlack 1902

Winners: Larz Hagen ’20, Lilya Woodburn ’20, Lori Hilmer, Alyssa Popowitch ’98, and David Cavins ’98