Alumni Awards

2017 Alumni Awards

The Grinnell College Alumni Council selected ten alumni who received Alumni Awards at the College’s 2017 Reunion in June. The Alumni Award recognizes individuals who embody Grinnell College’s mission of lifetime learning and service. Recipients distinguished themselves by their service to their careers, their community, and/or the College.

Bill Ingram ’53
Judy Wise Bond ’58
Margaret Megorden Bailly ’67
Jay Greener ’67
Billy Strean ’86

Dawn Helsing Wolters ’87
Sarah Jolie ’87
Christopher A. Wilde ’88
Jeffrey Shook ’92

The Pioneer Award is a distinctive Alumni Award which recognizes noteworthy alumni who have graduated from Grinnell College within the past ten years. These honorees offer inspiration as models for their demonstrated commitment to the values and mission of Grinnell in such a short time. In 2017, the Pioneer Award was presented to:

  • Graciela Guzman ’11

Learn more about each of our 2017 Alumni Award recipients.

Alumni Awards Nominations

Nominations are now closed for the 2018 Alumni Awards. Thank you to all who submitted nominations and supporting materials.  The recipients of the 2018 Alumni Awards will be announced, via email to all Reunion 2018 classes, in January.

Alumni Award nominations for 2019 Reunion classes will open in January.

Nominations can be submitted during any year, not just during your Reunion year. Nominations received will be kept until the nominee's next Reunion and will be available to the selection committee for two consecutive Reunion cycles in which the nominee is eligible for an award. If you would like to update a previously submitted nomination, please call the Office of Development and Alumni Relations at 866-850-1846 (toll-free) or email us at

Current trustees and current Alumni Council members are not eligible for an Alumni Award. Nominations for alumni from non-Reunion classes will be accepted but held until the appropriate Reunion year. Alumni who have received a Pioneer Award in the past are not eligible for an Alumni Award.

Previous Alumni Award Recipients